Is coconut water better for rehydration than sports drinks or water?

October 8, 2009 at 2:29 pm | Posted in Lifescape | Leave a comment
More:

I can say with certainty that I will continue to drink coconut water in place of sports drinks, regular water, and gels in the future.

I’d definitely rather drink coconut water than Gatorade. And really, the Gatorade isn’t that much cheaper.

clipped from www.runnerplus.com
Coconut water comes from the fruit of young coconuts. If you ever crack a baby coconut fruit, you can see that the inside contains a see through liquid rather than thick milk. This is where coconut water is born. It is naturally low in calories, low in natural sugars, and when combined with some other natural purees has a taste to die for. It possesses more potassium than two bananas and about half the sugar of orange juice and 1/3 of the acidity. Contrary to what you may think, it is a very fluid liquid that goes down just as easy as water.
between $1.50-2.00 for an eleven ounce septic container, I had my doubts
I had one eleven ounce container an hour or so before my 12 mile run, and seventeen to twenty-two ounces following it
for four days
The results were staggering. I was able to shave off ten to fifteen seconds a mile sustained over my entire run
able to sustain my endurance over the full eighty minutes with a very generous pace
The key was rehydrating

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

