The Internet And Me

August 30, 2009 at 7:55 pm | Posted in Lifescape | Leave a comment
clipped from michaelmistretta.com

Confessions: The Internet and My Ego Disorder

“The truth is that in the real world I am just like everybody else. The riders of public transit, my fellow patrons in the coffee shops, every pedestrian I pass—I am fundamentally no less anonymous and nameless than they are. In the real world nobody is asking for my opinion; I am not the keynote speaker; I am not even a good author. In fact, I am nothing that anybody else really wants to be. Hence I flee from reality. Oh sweet Internet domain, come stroke my fragile ego with your soothing readership stats!”

Yikes. Something tells me there’s a little bit of this in each of us that we need to get rid of.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

